Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: No sounds from cd rom  (Read 950 times)

Offline ZIGGY

No sounds from cd rom
« on: February 07, 2004, 21:04 »
Hi,
Hope someone can help me, I am a novice with pc's.
My problem is when I play an audio cd in my cdrom,whereas it used to launch automatically I now launch it via  an icon on desktop, and It does not come throught the speakers anymore I can only listen via the headphone socket.
If I try to access via AOL cd/media player, a window appears and it says,cd not accessable, insert audio cd.
I think I may have created my own problem somehow as I can still play music/from i/net through the speakers with no problem.
Any suggestions?

Offline chorleydave

• Forum Fanatic
Re:No sounds from cd rom
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2004, 22:34 »
Hi ZIGGY.  :welcome:

Double click on the volume icon in the system tray and check that the "CD Audio" volume slider is NOT set to off, and that it doesn't have a tick in the mute box.  Failing that, I'm sure someone with more technical knowledge will be along to help you later.

Offline ZIGGY

« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2004, 01:28 »
Chorleydave, thanks for the feedback but have tried that myself with no success. In fact my mates partner has just left after attempting to find a solution and thats where she went also, but without any success.
I feel its something really simple, but ...

Its late, have had a few , and if I keep trying tonight then I can see this pc going out the window!

Thanks again

Offline Simon

• Administrator
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2004, 09:10 »
Hi Ziggy,

Have you been tinkering inside the PC case?  I just wondered if the wire has become disconnected between the CD drive and the sound card?  If not...
I think I may have created my own problem somehow...