Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Ethernet  (Read 1570 times)

Offline Scotty_CFC

Ethernet
« on: May 22, 2004, 10:13 »
Hi, im looking to feed off my brothers 1mb BB (internet). I just ordered a cat5 ethernet cable. I never set a network up before, is the cable all i need? and will i need to change any protocols? As im new to this, any advice will be appreciated. Cheers, Scott.

O.S - XP
NW Adaptor - 10/100BT

Offline Rodders

• Forum Fanatic
  • Bournemouth: Where even the water is 'ard!
Re:Ethernet
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2004, 10:30 »
Hiya Scotty,

Could you provide us with some details about your hardware and operating system, etc?  Do you have a router/modem with more than one port?  Is it DSL or Cable BB?  Once we know what kit you've got we'll have a better idea of what your next step should be.   :)

Offline Scotty_CFC

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2004, 10:40 »
O.S = XP
My bros Internet connection = ADSL 1mb
Network adaptor = 10/100BT
I have a 56k modem
My bro has an AOL/BT adsl modem
I dont know about a router, dont know what it is  ???

System: intel celeron 1.8, 516mb DDR ram, 40gb HDD

Offline Scotty_CFC

« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2004, 10:45 »
What i was hoping to do was, just plug the ethernet cable into both our ethernet ports, then let xp detect it.

Offline Rodders

• Forum Fanatic
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2004, 10:58 »
A router is basically a box that allows you to attach more than one computer to your web connection, Scotty.  Are you using a DSL modem that has two to four sockets for patch cables on the back?

Offline Scotty_CFC

« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2004, 11:01 »
No, the adsl modem has 2 port, one to the wall, the other to USB

Offline Scotty_CFC

« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2004, 11:06 »
Would it not work by just connecting out ethernet cards with one cable?

Offline Rodders

• Forum Fanatic
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2004, 11:12 »