Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Intel Extreme Graphics Vs PCI Card  (Read 2140 times)

Offline Paddylast

Intel Extreme Graphics Vs PCI Card
« on: October 01, 2004, 21:41 »
Hi,

This is my first time posting here and from what I've seen so far it looks really good.

I bought my current PC at the beginning of the year and thought that the option with the onboard (intel extreme) graphics would be fine for me as I don't play that many games (I do play some).  I've since found out that this option is pretty poor and the graphics quality in most games is really bad.  I decided to buy a graphics card and then found out that there is no AGP port and that I'd have to buy a PCI graphics card.  I saw a cheap one in my local computer shop and decided to buy it (Hercules 3D Prophet 9000 PCI).  I installed it and after some intiial problems I got it to work and all my games were much better.

However, there was an intermittent problem in that I would get a message on boot up saying "Error allocating IRQ" and when this happened it gets by without any graphics card (really slow and can't play games).  I would reboot the PC and this would normally resolve the problem.  I was happy enough to do this from time to time but now almost every time I boot the PC I get the same message and I can't play any games.

I've got the onboard graphics disabled via Device Manager and I've set the graphics option in the setup menu to "AUTO" rather than "ONBOARD".  When I start Windows in safe mode I can see that the graphics card is using IRQ 11 and no other device is using this IRQ.

I'm absolutely baffled with this and short of selling the PC and buying another one with an AGP slot I don't know what to do next so any help on this would be much appreciated.

Cheers... ???
hy is it drug addicts and computer afficionados are both called users?

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
Re:Intel Extreme Graphics Vs PCI Card
« Reply #1 on: October 01, 2004, 22:16 »
Hi Paddy and :welcome: