Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Format C without CD.  (Read 697 times)

Offline Stinger

• New Registration
Format C without CD.
« on: September 07, 2005, 12:41 »
Hello!

Since I'm a noob with computers, I turn towards you guys for some help, hehe.

Here's my problem. (Well, problem, an issue I have to deal with).

Currently I have running Windows XP Pro on my PC. It worked fine (still does) but after a year I think it's time to do a format C to remove the junk that has been gathering on my system... Some things really don't run anymore like they used to and the basic cleansing up of the system doesn't help anymore either.

So I was like: well hey, I do a format C. Now here's the problem. A few weeks ago we had some burglars in our house and they took my CD collection with them, indeed, including my Windows XP Pro CD. So I can't format my hard drive with the CD. I tried my sisters home edition CD, but that's not working either.

So here are my two questions:
1: Can I do a format C without the Windows XP Pro CD?
2: Before I start format C my PC, is it legal to install the Windows XP Home Edition of my sister on my PC as well?

Thanks!

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
Format C without CD.
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2005, 13:11 »
Hi Stinger and :welcome:

Is your sisters XP Home a full version or a restore one ?
If its only a restore one then you cant use it to install on a hard drive that doesnt have the "hidden" partition that has the missing files preinstalled, the restore cd works in conjuction with the files on that partition.

You cant legally use your sisters XP on yours but as long as its a few months since it was last installed on your sisters then I think you will be able to register it as its quite conceivable that you would have to reinstall for one reason or another after a few months.

Whichever way you do it then you need a full version of either XP Pro or Home.
Were you trying to format from inside windows or by booting up from the CD ?