Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: DVD + & - differences  (Read 1815 times)

Offline Conrad

DVD + & - differences
« on: October 03, 2005, 20:01 »
Ok, so total newbie question. :blush:

I have a DVD writer on my Laptop which I've never used. How do I find out which kind of writer it is? Do I have to buy a particular type of blank DVD? ie DVD-R or DVD+R?

Apologies in advance if I've totally got this wrong.

Offline Simon

• Administrator
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
DVD + & - differences
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2005, 21:01 »
The +R/RW and -R/RW are simply two different formats, much as VHS and Betamax were in the old days of video.  +/-R means write once only , and +/-RW means ReWritable.  Which format you use, can depend on which make of drive you have, but many drives now support both formats.  You can find out much more information on the different formats HERE.  You might be able to find out the make of your drive by looking in Device Manager, under DVD/CD ROM Drives.  To find Device Manager in XP, right click your My Computer decktop icon, then select Manage, and you'll find Device Manager in the next window which pops up.
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline Conrad

DVD + & - differences
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2005, 09:42 »
Thanks Simon

I've checked out Device Manager and it lists my drives as Generic DVD-ROM SCSI CdRom Device  and  MATs**tA DVD-RAM UJ-815A

Don't suppose that means anything to you? :?:

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
DVD + & - differences
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2005, 13:37 »
Its a  DVD - R and -RW burner from what I found out about it, its a 2 x dvd writer and a 16 x CD writer  :)

Offline Conrad

DVD + & - differences
« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2005, 14:18 »
Quote from: "Sandra"
Its a  DVD - R and -RW burner from what I found out about it, its a 2 x dvd writer and a 16 x CD writer  :)