Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: voltage diagnosis  (Read 943 times)

Offline messydesk

• New Registration
voltage diagnosis
« on: February 12, 2006, 03:29 »
I am using "PC Alert 4" to figure out why my computer is freezing, whenever I do any video rendering the voltage meter on the far right of  "PC Alert" begins to go haywire with alert just before the crash, Problem is i am a newb and don't understand what the voltage meter is indicating,

the meter shows a graph with 10.0 at the bottom and 13.0 at the top, underneath the graph it says +12V,  my reading at normal computing is 12.9 ish, and when I start to render something my reading jumps to well above 13, the alarms go off and then I get the crash.

Could someone explain what the voltage meter represents and what problem it is indicating?

Thanks all!
-Dave

Offline Simon

• Administrator
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
voltage diagnosis
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2006, 08:33 »
Hi Dave, and  :welcome:

I'm no expert, but I'm wondering if perhaps the voltage meter is a bit "too much information".   Usually, this sort of thing (freezing when rendering images) turns out to be a problem with the graphics card, which may need a) updated drivers, b) removing and reseating, or at worst, c) replacing.  It could also be a problem with the program you are using for the video rendering.  Does the PC only freeze when attempting one particular task?  How much of a "newb" are you?  Have I lost you already?  Don't worry, we'll get to the bottom of the problem somehow.

:)
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline sam

• Administrator
voltage diagnosis
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2006, 11:27 »