Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Graphics card out?  (Read 949 times)

Offline Chicci

Graphics card out?
« on: August 22, 2003, 02:13 »
I'm a teacher who would like to display slideshow prestentations on a TV monitor from my PC.  In the simplest terms, (I'm just warming up to doing my own hardware stuff  ;)) what do I need to purchase, install, etc.  And can it be done for under $100?  It's gotta be cheaper than bying and LCD projector/

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
Re:Graphics card out?
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2003, 02:49 »
Hi Chicci and welcome aboard  :)

When you say a TV monitor I assume that you mean a normal TV ?
I assume that you are one of our american cousins seeing as you want it for under $100 not £s  ;)

You will need a graphic card with TV out,(preferably an AGP one if your PC has an AGP slot or a PCI if it hasnt got an AGP slot)I recently bought one in the UK for £49,128mb DDR Geforce 4 MX 440 SE AGP,(but there are some even cheaper) and from what I have seen when comparing USA prices to UK prices things seem to be the same price to you in dollars as they are to us in pounds sterling  :o
To connect the TV out from the card to a TV I have used a S-VHS lead to S-VHS lead(sometines called  S-VID).
You will then need another lead for the audio from the PC to the TV,this will go from your soundcard (onboard or a PCI one),as a 3.5mm stereo jack plug to two phono plugs,via the LINE OUT socket,( I believe that you call them RCA plugs in the good ol' US of A ).
Depending on the distance of your PC from the TV the price will vary a little for the leads but they arent expensive.
I bought a 10 metre high quality S-VHS lead last week for under £10 (I did have a cheaper one already which cost £2 but I want to run it under the floor of my house so I wanted to use a better quality lead hoping that it will last longer).