Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Boot Problem  (Read 1058 times)

Offline Simon

• Administrator
  • First to score 7/7 in Quiz of The Week's News 2017
Boot Problem
« on: December 28, 2003, 11:24 »
The PC I recently built for my cousin has developed a fault.  When she powers up, sometimes there is no beep, no monitor, no nothing, although the power is obviously there as the fans are all running.  She then hits the reset button, and everything boots up OK.  This started happening on odd occasions, but apparently it is starting to increase in frequency.  Any ideas?  I thought initially this was just the monitor not firing up, but now it seems it's more than  that.  Would going into the BIOS and disabling Quick Boot (if it's enabled) have any effect?
Many thanks to all our members, who have made PC Pals such an outstanding success!   :thumb:

Offline chorleydave

• Forum Fanatic
Re:Boot Problem
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2003, 13:58 »
I'm no expert, but has she checked that the motherboard battery is seated properly, Simon?

Offline jon996

« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2003, 14:17 »
i had a similar problem and it was a ram fault, have you tryed switching them around???

--jon :)
rive it like you stole it!

Adept

« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2003, 16:07 »
I'd get your cousin to send the whole thing back to the manufacturer and demand their money back Simon. There are a lot of cowboy PC-builders around these days you know :P

Disabling quick boot won't make any difference, although, as Jon says, it may possibly show up a memory fault.

Try removing all of the PCI cards and memory sticks and re-seat them. If this doesn't cure it, try re-seating the processor.

Offline Tony

• Loyal Member
    • http://www.sugrue.ndo.co.uk
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2003, 16:26 »

I'd get your cousin to send the whole thing back to the manufacturer and demand their money back Simon. There are a lot of cowboy PC-builders around these days you know :P