Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Need more RAM??  (Read 1495 times)

Offline susiegoosey

Need more RAM??
« on: July 27, 2005, 10:05 »
Hi all, I am new to this so apologies if my forum etiquette leaves something to be desired.  My Gateway G6-300 computer is 8 yrs old, has a 300MHz processor I have increased its RAM to 192mb and have a new hard drive installed which is less than half used.  I bought a new printer recently and since installing software have been getting many hangs, with messages telling me my system is dangerously low on resources. In the System file under Performance tab it indicates that system resources are only 6% free, when using internet especially, does this mean I need extra RAM or is my CPU the culprit?  I have been to the Crucial website and they indicate I can increase my RAM by another 192mb to its max amount.  Do you think doing this will solve my problem??  Thanks to anyone who replies.  Cheers
ue

Offline chorleydave

• Forum Fanatic
Need more RAM??
« Reply #1 on: July 27, 2005, 10:22 »
Hi, susiegoosey.  :welcome:

Adding RAM never does any harm, but have you considered that PC prices are so cheap these days that you could probably go to a computer fair and buy a fairly decent "box" or base unit with a 1000 processor and 512MB RAM for less than fifty quid?  In fact, I recently saw them going for twenty quid at Wigan Pier on Wednesday evening and you could add mouse, keyboard and monitor for another fifteen quid.

Just a thought.

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
Need more RAM??
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2005, 12:04 »
Hi Sue, I assume that you are running windows 98 or maybe ME so in that case 192mb ram should be plenty.
XP seems to like at least 256mb preferably 512mb.
Have you only recently increased your ram and was that when you got the hanging and low resources problems or was it only after installing the printer ?