Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Bridging connections in Windows  (Read 1860 times)

Offline Hiatus

• JoshSalverda.com
Bridging connections in Windows
« on: November 24, 2006, 01:29 »
Just wondering if anyone else knows how to do this better (or do this at all, lol) since I have never tried this before.

It might be easier to explain this with a diagram, but I'll give you the basic outline for now. I have one computer (desktop) with a usb wireless adapter and an ethernet connection. I have two laptops, one will connect through wireless (ad-hoc) to the desktop the other through ethernet. Basically, I want to have one big LAN with three computers connected in different ways.

Cheesy Diagram:

The problem is I can't run two connections on my desktop at once or things get screwed up. So do I have to bridge the wireless and ethernet connections? or is there another way? The only reason I want to do this is for gaming, lol... if both laptops are connected on wireless there is a lot of lag, on ethernet there is no lag but the one laptop is upstairs so that doesn't work too well.

This would probably be easier if I had a router... but I have no money :cry: so that is kinda out of the question rite now.
l33t h@x0r... sort of...

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
Re: Bridging connections in Windows
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2006, 01:59 »
Why cant you run two connections on deskktop pc ?

That shouldnt be a problem.

Set the desktop as the gateway and the ethernet to one laptop is straightforward, dont forget it needs a crossed cable not a straight patch one.
Then the Wi Fi from laptop to desktop, should link all 3 as the desktop is set as gateway  :dunno:

Offline Hiatus

• JoshSalverda.com
« Reply #2 on: November 24, 2006, 05:19 »
Oh, sorry forgot to mention there was a 10Mb hub between the desktop and the laptop, but a crossover might be a better idea. Then it will be 54Mb (cause of wireless) instead of 10Mb, rite?

Also...how do I set the desktop as a gateway?