Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Black screen at bootup - no beeps  (Read 1862 times)

Offline jg

Black screen at bootup - no beeps
« on: January 16, 2004, 12:45 »
Dear all,

My problem is as follows:
At bootup, my PC does not show anything on monitor and does not give any beeps. But the processor and the harddisk do get warm. :(

Specification:
P4, 2MHz, 784MB RDRAM

I am not an expert but if I am not mistaken the bootsequence of a PM is roughly:
1. Power on and check by power supply
2. Processor gets "Power OK" message from the power supply
3. Processor looks at ROM
4. ROM execution gives beeps to indicate OK (one beep) or error (multiple beeps)
5. Video card test
6. Ram test
7. Harddisk
etc.

The fact that my boot does not even come to step 4 suggests that the problem is with motherboard or processor; not with memory or HD. Is this conclusion correct?
(The funny thing is that this problem emerged after I swapped RAM modules.)

Do I have to buy a new processor or a new motherboard? Which of the two? Or is there a solution? ???

Thanks in advance for any tips.

JG

Offline Sandra

• Ultimate Member
Re:Black screen at bootup - no beeps
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2004, 13:14 »
Hi JG  :welcome:

It sounds like a bios or a memory problem but as you said no beeps its a little strange.
I assume that you have done the obvious and replaced the original ram that it worked with ?

Which mobo, cpu and ram have you got in now and previously ?

Adept

« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2004, 13:37 »
Hi JG :welcome:

The way to find out if it RAM is to remove your RAM chips temporarily and start the PC. If you get the POST beeps, then there is probably a memory-related fault. If you still don't get any beeps the problem could be motherboard or processor related.

It is sometimes worth removing all the PCI cards from the PCI too, which removes the possibility of a dead PCI card.