Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Random Crashes  (Read 1076 times)

Offline phil_roth

• New Registration
Random Crashes
« on: September 04, 2003, 21:58 »
Hi,

Hope I'm posting in the right forum for this query, i'm new to pc-pals.
I built my computer myself over a year ago now, and it has been 100% stable until the last month or two when the problem started. It has started locking-up randomly, sometimes it will just freeze on a game i'm playing or on the windows desktop, and sometimes it will just reset itself. There are no error messages at all, just instant crash. When it freezes even ctrl alt del does not work, it requires a complete power off to start the computer again.

I have tried so many things to try and diagnose this problem, including trying a different graphics card, hard drive, re-install windows, memory checkers, different combinations of memory, extra ventilation for my computer by sitting a fan right next to the computer with the case open. The most irratating thing is the fact that sometimes it can run for hours without problems, then sometimes i can suffer about 10 crashes in 10 minutes. The time when crashes occur most is the first 10-15 minutes of the computer being on, after its been off for a few hours. HELP! Any suggestions/possible reasons for crashes are welcome please.

I'm using windows XP, amd athlon 1800+, 384 mb ram, nvidea geforce 4 mx 440, 55 gig hard drive.

phil.

Online Clive

• Administrator
  • Won Quiz of the Year 2015,2016,2017, 2020, 2021
Re:Random Crashes
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2003, 22:04 »
Hi Phil and  :welcome:  One of our techies is probably working on your question as we speak.

Offline lobo

• http://www.burnleywood.com
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2003, 22:08 »
@phil_roth

XP has a default setting which reboots the PC if it encounters a problem. Change this to start with