Sponsor for PC Pals Forum

Author Topic: Broadband so near yet so far  (Read 785 times)

Offline Clive

• Administrator
  • Won Quiz of the Year 2015,2016,2017, 2020, 2021
Broadband so near yet so far
« on: December 25, 2003, 05:58 »
Neil Croft campaigned to get his local village telephone exchange upgraded for ADSL broadband. But when the village was hooked up, Mr Croft found he lived too far away to actually get it himself.

"I am a senior consultant for one of the UK's leading technology service companies, managing projects around the country, so the ability to be able to work from home would be an enormous boost to my productivity.

I am also a serious geek with five computers of my own at home plus my wife's laptop.

All these machines access the internet. My wife works with adults with learning disabilities and does a lot of work creating PowerPoint presentations for educational and communication purposes.

She is always looking for clipart and animations which are rarely small files.

Whilst where we live is not that remote - we can see the M18 from our bedroom window - we like to shop online to save driving the car.

As well as a fast connection, I really want the "always on" element of ADSL (Asynchronous Digital Subscriber Line) broadband.

Kick in the guts

When BT announced their ADSL exchange registration scheme in our area, we were very excited.

I immediately registered broadband4maltby.co.uk (now defunct), and together with two other locals, we started our campaign to get enough people interested to get the exchange upgraded.

We posted leaflets through letterboxes, asked shops to put posters in their windows, put posters on lampposts, and we had a service provider pay to put leaflets in the local free press.

I badgered the local press to print articles, but most of those attempts were unsuccessful.

I also lobbied the local and parish councils and local MPs.